

Representing the Districts of Kenora, Rainy River and Thunder Bay

P.O. Box 10308, Thunder Bay, ON P7B 6T8 www.noma.on.ca

p. 807.683.6662 e. admin@noma.on.ca

Date: October 7, 2024

Resolution 2024-34:

Background:

WHEREAS Billy Bishop Airport serves more than 2 million passengers per year, making it the 9th-busiest airport in Canada,5th-busiest serving the US market, 3rd busiest airport in Ontario, and making it a critical component of the national and regional air transportation system; and

WHEREAS the airport provides daily connections to the North with service to Thunder Bay, Sault Ste. Marie, Timmins and Sudbury, and enables access to many other neighbouring communities; and

WHEREAS Billy Bishop Airport is a critical access point for Northern communities for economic opportunities, tourism, social connectivity and critical medical care located in downtown Toronto;

WHEREAS the airport operates under a Tripartite Agreement among the City of Toronto, Transport Canada and PortsToronto, and that agreement is set to expire in 2033; and

WHEREAS the airport is seeking to secure its long-term future through a process to modernize and extend the Tripartite Agreement to drive sustainable growth and enhanced access and connections for passengers and the communities it connects to;

Recommendation:

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED THAT the Northwestern Ontario Municipal Association is seeking urgent action from the City of Toronto, PortsToronto and Transport Canada to commence a process and conclude it by the end of 2025 to modernize the current Tripartite Agreement and secure the future of Billy Bishop Airport.

AND FURTHER BE IT RESOLVED THAT a copy of this motion be sent to Hon. Anita Anand -President of the Treasury Board and Minister of Transport, Mayor Olivia Chow – Toronto City, Hon. Soraya Martinez Ferrada - Minister of Tourism, Government of Canada, Hon. François-Philippe Champagne - Minister of Innovation, Science and Industry - Government of Canada, Hon. Arun Thangaraj - Deputy Minister of Transport Canada - Government of Canada, John D. Elvidge - City of Toronto - Clerk, Paul Johnson - City of Toronto - City Manager, Jag Sharma -City of Toronto - Deputy City Manager, RJ Steenstra - President and CEO - Ports Toronto, Sandra Pupatello - Chair of Board of Directors - Ports Toronto, Neil Pakey - President and CEO - Nieuport Aviation, Hon. Prabmeet Sarkaria - Minister of Transportation - Government of Ontario, Hon. Vic Fedeli - Minister of Economic Development, Job Creation and Trade -Government of Ontario, MP Patty Haidu (Thunder Bay - Superior North), MP Marcus Powlowski - Thunder Bay-Rainy River, MP Eric Melillo - Kenora, MPP Greg Rickford, (Kenora - Rainy River), MPP Kevin Holland, (Thunder Bay - Atikokan), MPP Lise Vaugeois, (Thunder Bay -Superior North), and all NOMA member municipalities - CAOs and Clerks.

Moved By: Lisa Teeple, Councillor of Emo Seconded By: Jim Vezina, Mayor of O'Connor

CARRIED

Whendy Landry

President, NOMA